Tips and Tricks: How to Get More Out of Your Home Office

February 4, 2021
  1. Consequences for the real estate market
  2. Set up your home office: the office
  3. Set up your home office: the table
  4. Set up your home office: the chair
  5. Set up your home office: the screen
  6. Set up your home office: the light
  7. Set up your home office: the order
  8. Set up your home office: the plants
  9. How to fight home office grind

Since 18 January 2021, home office duties have been mandatory in Switzerland. Anyone who can work at home "with reasonable effort" must do so. This is what the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) prescribes. And that is until further notice. Even if we are allowed to return to our jobs at some point, many want to work at home completely or at least partially after Corona.

Consequences for the real estate market

In Switzerland, houses and flats are sought after in regions that were not so high in buyers' favour before Corona. This is confirmed by the results of a Bitkom study in Germany published at the beginning of January and has consequences for the real estate market: 21 per cent of the employees surveyed would move if they were allowed to continue working in a home office and no longer had to commute to work every day. This desire is stronger among younger workers than older ones. They would rather live in the countryside (39 per cent), closer to friends and family (28 per cent) or in a more attractive city (23 per cent). Corona reinforces and accelerates the trend towards location-independent working, and the home office boom should relieve congested cities.

Home office: Rural Area with Houses in Switzerland
More and more people want to work from home, either fully or partially, even after Corona. That is why the demand for real estate away from the big cities in Switzerland is increasing.

Set up your home office wisely with our seven tips. Just for a few weeks or for longer if you want and are allowed to.

Set up your home office: the office

Most people work more efficiently and concentrate better when they have peace and quiet. If possible, set up your home office in a separate room. This way you can work undisturbed and make phone calls or take part in video conferences. If you do not have a spare room and work in the living room, for example, separate the work area with plants, shelves or partitions.

Set up your home office: the table

You need a table that is big enough for your computer and your documents. SUVA recommends 120 centimetres as the table length. Ideally, the table should be height-adjustable so that you can work sitting and standing and thus relieve your back. If you don't have enough space for a desk, the kitchen table will do. But then you have to tidy up before every meal.

Set up your home office: the chair

The chair must be height adjustable. Adjust the seat height so that your thighs rest on the seat up to a few centimetres. Ensure a right angle between upper and lower leg as well as upper leg and torso. SUVA recommends chairs with 5 castors. Soft castors if the chair is on a hard floor, hard castors if it is on a carpet.

Home Office: Table, Chair and Light are Particularly Important.
Don't skimp on the table, the chair and the light. Your eyes, neck and back will thank you.

Set up your home office: the height of the screen

The best way to relieve the strain on your back and neck is to look slightly downwards at the screen. To do this, you must set the screen low enough or place the notebook in an elevated position, for example on a pad. If you place the notebook in an elevated position, you should connect an external keyboard and mouse, because the internal keyboard and touchpad are ergonomically impractical.

Set up your home office: the light

Natural light is best. However, do not place the desk facing or with its back to the window, otherwise the screen contrast will be too strong or weak. It is best to place the desk at a 90-degree angle to the window. With a ceiling lamp with soft light and a desk lamp, you can also work in a way that is easy on the eyes if daylight is no longer sufficient for this.

Houzy Advice

Good to know

Bad light can cause burning eyes, headaches or concentration problems and noticeably shorten your working time in the home office.

Set up your home office: the order

The smaller your desk and workspace, the more important it is to keep your home office tidy. With enough storage space, for example in a carcase under the desk, a rule, a cupboard or a sideboard, you can keep your work surface tidy. If you have little space, you can put files, folders and papers in cardboard boxes and stack the boxes on top of each other.

Home Office - Community Forum

Show your home office:

No matter whether you work in the kitchen, the living room or the office: Show the community how you have furnished your home and inspire each other.
To the Community Forum

Set up your home office: the plants

Plants belong in every office, even at home. They improve the working atmosphere, increase humidity, filter pollutants from the air and improve the indoor climate. They are also a natural sound barrier if you use the phone a lot and improve the ability to concentrate.

Houzy Hint

Tip

You can also apply the Chinese harmony theory Feng Shui to furnish your home office. Read our article "Feng Shui: How to Arrange Your Home Harmoniously".

Home Office: Workplace with Screen, Lamp and Chair
Not everyone has a spare room for their home office. Our content creator Roger, for example, has set up his workspace in the kitchen of the living room.

How to fight the home office grind

Home office days can be long and sometimes monotonous. Beat the home office grind with these seven tips:

  1. Work in your usual rhythm: get up, have breakfast, shower, get dressed, go to work, work, talk to colleagues, go home, finish work.
  2. Dress as you would for work. Not only for the video conferences, but also for yourself.
  3. Plan the day, including breaks, and let your team and boss know when you are available and when you are not.
  4. Go for a walk over lunch, have a quiet meal and take virtual coffee breaks with colleagues.
  5. Ventilate regularly. This is good for the indoor climate and you can concentrate better.
  6. Do not work overtime every day and do not regularly work into the evening. Separating working time and free time is more difficult in the home office than in the office.
  7. Clean up the workplace when you are done and enjoy your end of the day.

Houzy Advice

Good to know

Is your boss allowed to monitor you in your home office? No. In the Ordinance 3 to the Labour Code it is stated that "Monitoring and control systems designed to monitor the behaviour of workers at the workplace may not be used." This also applies in the home office. However, it is possible to monitor performance, just like at the workplace in the company. For example, the number of calls if you work in a call centre.

For fun and inspiration: Here's how different the home office workplaces of us Houzies are

Since October, we have all been working increasingly in the home office. The home office obligation of 18 January was therefore not a big change for us - but the potential for optimised workplaces still exists for us as well. Decide for yourself...

Home Office: Living Room
Light-flooded and modern: the workplace in the living room of our CTO and Co-Founder Florian

Home Office: Office Room
In reduced Scandi chic: this is where Alina's marketing ideas come to mind

Home Office: Table with Two Screens
Mathias, our operations lead, looks purist but all the more functional for it.

Home Office: Office Room
Simple, bright and equipped with all the essentials: The workspace of UX lead Christina

You can find even more pictures in our Community Forum - take part too!

Take Part Now

Read more about

Share article

Was this article helpful?

Related articles

Tipps und Tricks: So machen Sie mehr aus Ihrem Home Office

4.2.2021
Richten Sie Ihr Home Office wenn möglich in einem eigenen Zimmer ein. Dann haben Sie Ruhe, können sich besser konzentrieren und stören niemanden.
  1. Folgen für den Immobilienmarkt
  2. Home Office einrichten: das Büro
  3. Home Office einrichten: der Tisch
  4. Home Office einrichten: der Stuhl
  5. Home Office einrichten: die Bildschirmhöhe
  6. Home Office einrichten: das Licht
  7. Home Office einrichten: die Ordnung
  8. Home Office einrichten: Pflanzen
  9. So bekämpfen Sie den Home-Office-Koller

Seit dem 18. Januar 2021 herrscht in der Schweiz Home-Office-Pflicht. Wer «mit verhältnismässigem Aufwand» zu Hause arbeiten kann, muss das tun. So schreibt es das Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG vor. Und das bis auf weiteres. Auch wenn wir irgendwann wieder an unsere Arbeitsplätze zurückkehren dürfen, wollen viele nach Corona ganz oder zumindest teilweise zu Hause arbeiten.

Folgen für den Immobilienmarkt

In der Schweiz sind Häuser und Wohnungen in Regionen gesucht, die vor Corona nicht so hoch in der Käufergunst standen. Das bestätigen die Anfang Januar veröffentlichen Ergebnisse einer Bitkom-Studie in Deutschland und hat Folgen für den Immobilienmarkt: 21 Prozent der befragten Arbeitnehmer*innen würden umziehen, wenn sie weiterhin im Home Office arbeiten dürften und nicht mehr jeden Tag zur Arbeit pendeln müssten. Dieser Wunsch ist bei jüngeren Arbeitnehmer*innen stärker als bei älteren. Sie wollen lieber im Grünen (39 Prozent), näher bei Freunden und Familie (28 Prozent) oder in einer attraktiveren Stadt (23 Prozent) wohnen. Corona verstärkt und beschleunigt den Trend zum ortsunabhängigen Arbeiten, der Home-Office-Boom dürfte stark verdichtete Städte entlasten.

Homeoffice: ländliches Gebiet mit Häusern in der Schweiz
Immer mehr Menschen wollen auch nach Corona ganz oder teilweise von zu Hause aus arbeiten. Darum steigt die Nachfrage nach Immobilien abseits der grossen Städte in der Schweiz.

Mit unseren sieben Tipps richten Sie Ihr Büro zu Hause sinnvoll ein. Nur für ein paar Wochen oder für länger, wenn Sie wollen und dürfen.

Home Office einrichten: das Büro

Die meisten arbeiten effizienter und konzentrierter, wenn sie Ruhe haben. Richten Sie darum wenn möglich Ihr Home Office in einem eigenen Zimmer ein. So können Sie ungestört arbeiten und telefonieren oder an Videokonferenzen teilnehmen. Falls Sie kein Zimmer frei haben und zum Beispiel im Wohnzimmer arbeiten, grenzen Sie den Arbeitsbereich mit Pflanzen, Regalen oder Trennwänden ab.

Home Office einrichten: der Tisch

Sie brauchen einen Tisch, der genügend gross ist für Ihren Computer und Ihre Unterlagen. Die SUVA empfiehlt 120 Zentimeter als Tischlänge. Idealerweise ist der Tisch höhenverstellbar, damit Sie sitzend und stehend arbeiten und so Ihren Rücken entlasten können. Falls Sie zu wenig Platz für einen Schreibtisch haben, tut es der Küchentisch auch. Dann müssen Sie aber vor jeder Mahlzeit aufräumen.

Home Office einrichten: der Stuhl

Der Stuhl muss höhenverstellbar sein. Stellen Sie die Sitzhöhe so ein, dass Ihre Oberschenkel bis auf wenige Zentimeter auf der Sitzfläche aufliegen. Achten Sie auf einen rechten Winkel zwischen Ober- und Unterschenkel sowie Oberschenkel und Rumpf. Die SUVA empfiehlt Stühle mit 5 Rollen. Weiche Rollen, wenn der Stuhl auf einem harten Boden steht, harte Rollen, wenn er auf einem Teppich steht.

Home Office: Besonders wichtig sind Tisch, Stuhl und Licht.
Sparen Sie nicht am Tisch, am Stuhl und am Licht. Ihre Augen, Ihr Nacken und Ihr Rücken werden es Ihnen danken.

Home Office einrichten: die Bildschirmhöhe

Sie entlasten Rücken und Nacken am besten, wenn Sie leicht nach unten auf den Bildschirm schauen. Dafür müssen Sie den Bildschirm tief genug einstellen oder das Notebook erhöht aufstellen, beispielsweise auf eine Unterlage. Falls Sie das Notebook erhöht aufstellen, sollten Sie eine externe Tastatur und Maus anschliessen, weil die interne Tastatur und das Touchpad ergonomisch unpraktisch sind.

Home Office einrichten: das Licht

Natürliches Licht ist am besten. Stellen Sie den Schreibtisch aber nicht mit dem Blick oder Rücken zum Fenster auf, sonst ist der Bildschirmkontrast zu stark oder schwach. Am besten stellen Sie den Tisch im 90-Grad-Winkel zum Fenster. Mit einer Deckenlampe mit weichem Licht und einer Schreibtischlampe können Sie auch augenschonend arbeiten, wenn das Tageslicht dafür nicht mehr ausreicht.

Gut zu wissen: Schlechtes Licht kann Augenbrennen, Kopfschmerzen oder Konzentrationsstörungen auslösen und Ihre Arbeitszeit im Home Office spürbar verkürzen.

Home Office einrichten: die Ordnung

Je kleiner Ihr Schreibtisch und Ihr Arbeitsbereich sind, desto wichtiger ist die Ordnung im Home Office. Mit genügend Stauraum, zum Beispiel in einem Korpus unter dem Tisch, einem Regel, einem Schrank oder einem Sideboard, halten Sie Ihre Arbeitsfläche aufgeräumt. Falls Sie wenig Platz haben, können Sie Akten, Ordner und Papiere in Kartonschachteln räumen und die Schachteln aufeinander stapeln.

Zeigen Sie uns Ihr Homeoffice

Home Office einrichten: Pflanzen

Pflanzen gehören in jedes Büro, auch zu Hause. Sie verbessern die Arbeitsatmosphäre, erhöhen die Luftfeuchtigkeit, filtern Schadstoffe aus der Luft und verbessern das Raumklima. Ausserdem sind sie ein natürlicher Schallschutz, wenn Sie viel telefonieren, und verbessern die Konzentrationsfähigkeit.

Tipp: Die chinesische Harmonielehre Feng Shui können Sie auch anwenden, um Ihr Home Office einzurichten. Lesen Sie dazu unseren Artikel «Feng Shui: So richten Sie Ihr Zuhause harmonisch ein».

Homeoffice: Arbeitsplatz mit Bildschirm, Lampe und Stuhl
Nicht alle haben ein Zimmer frei für ihr Home Office. Unser Content Creator Roger beispielsweise hat seinen Arbeitsplatz in der Wohnküche eingerichtet

So bekämpfen Sie den Home-Office-Koller

Die Tage im Home Office können lang und manchmal auch eintönig sein. Mit diesen sieben Tipps schlagen Sie dem Home-Office-Koller ein Schnippchen:

  1. Arbeiten Sie im gewohnten Rhythmus: Stehen Sie auf, frühstücken Sie, duschen Sie, ziehen Sie sich an, gehen Sie zur Arbeit, arbeiten Sie, reden Sie mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen, gehen Sie nach Hause, machen Sie Feierabend.
  2. Ziehen Sie sich wie für die Arbeit an. Nicht nur für die Videokonferenzen, auch für sich selber.
  3. Planen Sie den Tag, inklusive Pausen, und teilen Sie Ihrem Team und Chef mit, wann Sie erreichbar und wann Sie nicht erreichbar sind.
  4. Gehen Sie über Mittag spazieren, essen Sie in Ruhe und machen Sie virtuelle Kaffeepausen mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen.
  5. Lüften Sie regelmässig. Das ist gut für das Raumklima und Sie können sich besser konzentrieren.
  6. Machen Sie nicht jeden Tag Überstunden und arbeiten Sie nicht regelmässig bis in den Abend hinein. Arbeitszeit und Freizeit trennen ist im Home Office schwieriger als im Büro.
  7. Räumen Sie den Arbeitsplatz auf, wenn Sie fertig sind, und geniessen Sie Ihren Feierabend.

Gut zu wissen: Darf Ihr Chef Sie im Home Office überwachen? Nein. In Verordnung 3 zum Arbeitsgesetz steht «Überwachungs- und Kontrollsysteme, die das Verhalten der Arbeitnehmer am Arbeitsplatz überwachen sollen, dürfen nicht eingesetzt werden.» Das gilt auch im Home Office. Möglich ist allerdings, wie am Arbeitsplatz in der Firma, eine Leistungskontrolle. Zum Beispiel die Anzahl Anrufe, wenn Sie in einem Callcenter arbeiten.

Zum Spass und als Inspiration: So unterschiedlich sind die Home Office Arbeitsplätze von uns Houzies

Seit Oktober arbeiten wir alle vermehrt im Home Office. Die Home-Office-Pflicht vom 18. Januar stellte für uns deshalb keine grosse Umstellung dar – das Potential an optimierten Arbeitsplätzen besteht aber auch bei uns noch. Entscheiden Sie selbst...

Homeoffice: Wohnzimmer
Lichtdurchflutet und modern: der Arbeitsplatz im Wohnzimmer unseres CTO und Co-Founders Florian

Homeoffice: Bürozimmer
Im reduzierten Scandi-Chic: Hier kommen Alina die Ideen fürs Marketing in den Sinn

Homeoffice: Tisch mit zwei Bildschirmen
Puristisch aber dafür umso funktionaler sieht's bei Mathias, unserem Operations-Lead, aus.

Homeoffice: Bürozimmer
Schlicht, hell und mit allen wichtigen Geräten ausgestattet: Der Arbeitsbereich von UX-Lead Christina

Noch mehr Bilder finden Sie in unserem Community Forum – machen Sie auch mit!

Jetzt mitmachen

Mehr lesen über

Artikel teilen

War dieser Artikel hilfreich?

Ähnliche Beiträge

Zurück zum Houzy Magazin