1. Definition Smart Home
  2. Smart Home: the most important advantages
  3. How Smart Home works
  4. Open or closed?
  5. Smart devices for individual tasks
  6. Networking individual smart devices retroactively
  7. Connect two or more smart devices to the system
  8. When you build or renovate
  9. And what about security?

Smart Home is a trend that has intensified and accelerated in recent months thanks to Corona. Most retailers report significantly increasing sales in 2020, the number 1 even of plus 180 % for Smart Home control centres. These are the hubs that network individual smart devices such as lamps, thermostats or door locks. Many people work in the lockdown in the home office or spend more time at home and therefore upgrade their house or apartment smartly.

Definition Smart Home

Smart Home networks home technology via Wi-Fi or Bluetooth and automates devices. They can be conveniently controlled and operated remotely using a smartphone, voice assistant or tablet, for example. There are simple solutions for individual tasks, for example smart lamps, or complex Smart Home systems. They are programmed with scenarios such as "leave house", which, for example, switch off all lamps, activate the door lock and camera, lower the room temperature and check whether the hotplates are really off.

Smart Home: the most important advantages

Smart Home makes our everyday life easier because household appliances such as refrigerators, robot hoovers or washing machines can be operated remotely and relieve us of work.

Example: The fridge recognises what is missing and orders the missing food online - when you get home, the food delivery is waiting for you.

Smart Home increases our living comfort because lamps or multimedia devices can be programmed with scenarios.

Example: You say "Candle Light Dinner" and Alexa or Siri switches off the TV, starts a playlist with songs from the 80s and dims the light in the dining room. Only the candles (still) have to be lit by you...

Smart Home makes our home safe because alarm systems, motion and fire detectors, cameras or lamps can be networked with the building technology.

Examples: When you close the front door, the alarm system switches on - or you programme a "holiday" scenario and no longer have to ask your neighbours to switch the light on and off irregularly.

Smart Home reduces energy consumption and improves the indoor climate because heating, ventilation and sun protection can be controlled automatically.

Examples: The heating lowers the temperature as soon as you leave the house, the ventilation compensates for humidity that is too high or too low, or the blinds lower when the sun shines into the living room.

smart home system

You would like to install a Smart Home System?

Receive up to three non-binding comparison offers from our certified experts free of charge and with just a few clicks.
Get Smart Home Offers

How Smart Home works

The devices run processes that you have programmed beforehand. If you want to use more than one smart device, you need a control centre, also called a hub or gateway. The control centre connects and controls all devices and ensures communication and data exchange. The data is transported wirelessly via radio solutions such as Wi-Fi or Bluetooth or bus systems, which are permanently installed lines.

If you want to retrofit your house or apartment smart, a wireless solution is easier and makes more sense. But if you are building, bus systems make more sense because they work more reliably, consume less power and protect your data better. Common are KNX bus systems, which can be flexibly installed and adapted to your Smart Home concept, and digital power networks, which use power lines for data transport.

Houzy Hint

Tip

With Wi-Fi or Bluetooth solutions, look out for radio standards such as EnOcean, ZigBee or Z-Ware, which have been specially developed for Smart Home devices.

Smart Home control system
With a Smart Home system, (almost) everything at home can be controlled, for example the light or the room temperature.

Open or closed?

There are open and closed control centres for Smart Home systems. Closed control centres work with a manufacturer-specific radio protocol. This means that you can only network the devices of this manufacturer and its cooperation partners. This severely restricts your choice, but the devices work together perfectly and protect your data better. Open control panels support various radio standards and are compatible with many manufacturers. This allows you to operate all devices with a single app.

Houzy Advice

Good to know

If you want to operate and remote control your devices with your smartphone, the control centre should be Homekit-compatible (for iOS) or Google Home-compatible (for Android).

Smart Home wireless devices
With a Smart Speaker, you can also easily control and operate the devices with your voice.

Houzy Hint

Tip

Before you buy a complete system, try out a few simple components first, such as the light control. If you feel comfortable with the app and operation, you can expand the system step by step. If not, look at other systems.

Smart devices for individual tasks

If you only want to automate individual tasks, you do not have to buy a complete system. It is often sufficient to replace individual controllers or switches. For example, you can just replace the old light bulb with a smart light bulb or the old radiator controller with a smart radiator controller, download the app, and you're done. That's enough to dim the light continuously or adjust the temperature to within a tenth of a degree, usually even remotely.

Networking individual smart devices retroactively

If you started with a lamp, then bought a control for the heating and finally added a camera, in the worst case you had to install three apps from three manufacturers. That's why you can't operate the devices centrally. That's why there are free online platforms like IFTTT (If This Then That), which link smart individual solutions via the internet. Or Apple HomeKit and Google Home, which also function as a control centre for the devices of other manufacturers.

Connect two or more smart devices to the system

If you know from the start that you want to network more than two devices, you should buy a system solution with a central base station. This way you only have to install a single wireless box at the router instead of gateways for each lamp, sensor or thermostat. And you can conveniently control the system via a single app and easily automate it with rules. Starter packages with a control centre and command receivers (or actuators) are available from specialist retailers for a few hundred francs.

Houzy Hint

Tip

Smart Home systems can be set up and expanded in a modular way. You can start small and expand the system step by step. Make sure that all devices use the same radio standard, for example EnOcean, ZigBee or Z-Ware.

Smart Home: an intelligent thermostat regulates the temperature automatically
Smart thermostats lower the temperature when you leave the house and raise it again before you return.

When you build or renovate

Building automation with a bus system is safer, more economical in power consumption and more powerful than a wireless installation via Wi-Fi or Bluetooth. If you are building or renovating your house or apartment, the electrician can lay the control cables in the walls with little effort. This way, you can easily connect switches and sockets via the installation bus later on. You have the choice between closed proprietary systems of a manufacturer or open systems such as KNX, a standard for home automation that is now supported by more than 500 companies.

Houzy Hint

Tip

If you do not (yet) want to install a Smart Home system, you should still have empty conduits pulled into all rooms. This way you are prepared for the future and increase the value of the property. If standards change in the meantime, you only need to replace the cables.

And what about security?

Every Smart Home device collects data about you to perform its tasks and is connected to the internet. The refrigerator recognises what is missing and orders the missing food online. It stores this data. Just like the heating system, which needs to know when you leave and return to the house so that it can adjust the temperature. Lifestyle habits can be derived from this data. Much of this data is not sensitive, but some is, for example the data from which conclusions can be drawn about your health, or credit card information. That is why you should be careful and close possible security gaps:

  • After installation, change all standard user names and passwords with individual user names and passwords that only you know and that you do not write down anywhere.
  • Protect the complete Smart Home system with a firewall, access rights and additional encryption.
  • Regularly install all device updates and only install updates that you receive directly from the manufacturer.
  • Change your user names and passwords regularly and never write them down.

Most Smart Home systems are easy to install. For more complex tasks, for example the actuators for a roller shutter drive or a 230 volt switch, you should ask an electrician.

Related articles

Back to Houzy Magazine

Smart Home: So machen Sie Ihr Zuhause smart

4.3.2021
Smart Home passt beispielsweise das Licht der Stimmung an.
  1. Definition Smart Home
  2. Smart Home: die wichtigsten Vorteile
  3. So funktioniert Smart Home
  4. Offen oder geschlossen?
  5. Smarte Geräte für einzelne Aufgaben
  6. Einzelne smarte Geräte nachträglich vernetzen
  7. Zwei oder mehr smarte Geräte mit System verbinden
  8. Wenn Sie bauen oder sanieren
  9. Und wie steht es um die Sicherheit?

Smart Home ist ein Trend, der sich in den letzten Monaten dank Corona verstärkt und beschleunigt hat. Die meisten Händler berichten von deutlich steigenden Umsätzen im Jahr 2020, die Nummer 1 sogar von plus 180 Prozent für Smart-Home-Steuerzentralen. Das sind die Hubs, die einzelne smarte Geräte wie Lampen, Thermostaten oder Türschlösser vernetzen. Viele Leute arbeiten im Lockdown im Home Office oder verbringen mehr Zeit zu Hause und rüsten darum ihr Haus oder ihre Wohnung smart nach.

Definition Smart Home

Smart Home vernetzt die Haustechnik über WLAN oder Bluetooth und automatisiert Geräte. Sie können beispielsweise mit einem Smartphone, Sprachassistenten oder Tablet bequem ferngesteuert und bedient werden. Es gibt einfache Lösungen für einzelne Aufgaben, zum Beispiel smarte Lampen, oder komplexe Smart-Home-Systeme. Sie werden mit Szenarien wie «Haus verlassen» programmiert, die beispielsweise alle Lampen ausschalten, Türschloss und Kamera aktivieren, die Raumtemperatur herunterfahren und kontrollieren, ob die Herdplatten wirklich aus sind.

Smart Home: die wichtigsten Vorteile

Smart Home erleichtert unseren Alltag, weil Haushaltgeräte wie Kühlschränke, Roboterstaubsauger oder Waschmaschinen fernbedient werden können und uns Arbeit abnehmen.

Beispiel: Der Kühlschrank erkennt, was fehlt, und bestellt die fehlenden Lebensmittel online – wenn Sie nach Hause kommen, wartet die Lebensmittellieferung auf Sie.

Smart Home steigert unseren Wohnkomfort, weil Lampen oder Multimediageräte mit Szenarien programmiert werden können.

Beispiel: Sie sagen «Candle Light Dinner» und Alexa oder Siri schaltet den Fernseher aus, startet eine Playlist mit Songs aus den 80er-Jahren und dimmt das Licht im Esszimmer. Nur die Kerzen müssen Sie (noch) selber anzünden...

Smart Home macht unser Zuhause sicher, weil Alarmanlagen, Bewegungs- und Feuermelder, Kameras oder Lampen mit der Haustechnik vernetzt werden können.

Beispiele: Wenn Sie die Haustüre schliessen, schaltet sich das Alarmsystem ein – oder Sie programmieren ein Szenario «Ferien» und müssen nicht mehr Ihre Nachbarn bitten, das Licht unregelmässig ein- und auszuschalten.

Smart Home senkt den Energieverbrauch und verbessert das Raumklima, weil Heizung, Belüftung und Sonnenschutz automatisch gesteuert werden können.

Beispiele: Die Heizung senkt die Temperatur, sobald Sie das Haus verlassen, die Belüftung gleicht zu hohe oder zu tiefe Luftfeuchtigkeit aus oder die Jalousien fahren runter, wenn die Sonne ins Wohnzimmer scheint.

Mit einem Smart Home System das Zuhause automatisieren
Mit einem Smart-Home-System kann (fast) alles Zuhause gesteuert werden, zum Beispiel das Licht oder die Raumtemperatur.

So funktioniert Smart Home

Die Geräte arbeiten Prozesse ab, die Sie vorher programmiert haben. Wenn Sie mehr als ein smartes Gerät einsetzen wollen, brauchen Sie eine Steuerzentrale, auch Hub oder Gateway genannt. Die Zentrale verbindet und steuert alle Geräte und stellt die Kommunikation und den Datenaustausch sicher. Die Daten werden kabellos über Funklösungen wie WLAN oder Bluetooth oder Bussysteme transportiert, das sind fest installierte Leitungen.

Wenn Sie Ihr Haus oder Ihre Wohnung smart nachrüsten wollen, ist eine kabellose Lösung einfacher und sinnvoller. Falls Sie aber bauen, sind Bussysteme sinnvoller, weil sie zuverlässiger funktionieren, weniger Strom verbrauchen und Ihre Daten besser schützen. Verbreitet sind KNX-Bussysteme, die flexibel verlegt und an Ihr Smart-Home-Konzept angepasst werden können, und Digitalstrom-Netzwerke, die Stromleitungen für den Datentransport nutzen.

Tipp: Achten Sie bei WLAN- oder Bluetooth-Lösungen auf Funkstandards wie EnOcean, ZigBee oder Z-Ware, die extra für Smart-Home-Geräte entwickelt worden sind.

Smart Home kabellose Systeme
Mit einem Smart Speaker können Sie die Geräte auch mit Ihrer Stimme einfach steuern und bedienen.

Offen oder geschlossen?

Es gibt offene und geschlossene Steuerzentralen für Smart-Home-Systeme. Geschlossene Zentralen arbeiten mit einem herstellergebundenen Funkprotokoll. Das heisst, Sie können nur die Geräte dieses Herstellers und seiner Kooperationspartner vernetzen. Das schränkt Sie in der Auswahl stark ein, dafür arbeiten die Geräte tadellos zusammen und schützen Ihre Daten besser. Offene Zentralen unterstützen verschiedene Funkstandards und sind mit vielen Herstellern kompatibel. So können Sie alle Geräte mit einer einzigen App bedienen.

Gut zu wissen: Wenn Sie Ihre Geräte mit dem Smartphone bedienen und fernsteuern wollen, sollte die Steuerzentrale Homekit- (für iOS) beziehungsweise Google-Home-kompatibel (für Android) sein.

Tipp: Bevor Sie ein komplettes System kaufen, probieren Sie erst einige einfache Komponenten wie die Lichtsteuerung aus. Wenn Sie sich mit der App und Bedienung wohl fühlen, können Sie das System schrittweise ausbauen. Falls nicht, schauen Sie sich andere Systeme an.

Smarte Geräte für einzelne Aufgaben

Falls Sie nur einzelne Aufgaben automatisieren wollen, müssen Sie kein komplettes System kaufen. Oft genügt es schon, einzelne Regler oder Schalter auszutauschen. Sie können beispielsweise nur die alte Glühbirne durch ein smartes Leuchtmittel oder den alten Heizkörperregler durch einen smarten Heizkörperregler ersetzen, die App dazu herunterladen, fertig. Das reicht, um das Licht stufenlos zu dimmen oder die Temperatur auf ein Zehntelgrad genau einzustellen, in der Regel auch aus der Ferne.

Smart Home: Ein smarter Thermostat regelt die Temperatur automatisch.
Smarte Thermostaten senken die Temperatur, wenn Sie das Haus verlassen, und erhöhen Sie wieder, bevor Sie zurückkehren.

Einzelne smarte Geräte nachträglich vernetzen

Wenn Sie mit einer Lampe angefangen, dann eine Steuerung für die Heizung gekauft und zuletzt eine Kamera hinzugefügt haben, mussten Sie im schlechtesten Fall drei Apps von drei Herstellern installieren. Darum können Sie die Geräte nicht zentral bedienen. Dafür gibt es kostenlose Onlineplattformen wie IFTTT (If This Then That), die smarte Einzellösungen über das Internet verknüpfen. Oder Apple HomeKit und Google Home, die auch als Schaltzentrale für die Geräte anderer Hersteller funktionieren.

Zwei oder mehr smarte Geräte mit System verbinden

Wenn Sie von Anfang an wissen, dass Sie mehr als zwei Geräte vernetzen wollen, sollten Sie sich eine Systemlösung mit einer zentralen Basisstation kaufen. So müssen Sie nur eine einzelne Funkbox am Router installieren statt Gateways für jede Lampe, jeden Sensor, jeden Thermostaten. Und Sie können das System komfortabel über eine einzige App steuern und mit Regeln einfach automatisieren. Im Fachhandel sind Starterpakete mit Steuerzentrale und Befehlsempfängern (oder Aktoren) für einige hundert Franken erhältlich.

Tipp: Smart-Home-Systeme sind modular auf- und ausbaubar. Sie können klein anfangen und das System schrittweise erweitern. Achten Sie darauf, dass alle Geräte denselben Funkstandard nutzen, zum Beispiel EnOcean, ZigBee oder Z-Ware.

smart home banner

Wenn Sie bauen oder sanieren

Die Gebäudeautomatisation mit einem Bussystem ist sicherer, sparsamer im Stromverbrauch und leistungsfähiger als eine drahtlose Installation über WLAN oder Bluetooth. Wenn Sie bauen oder Ihr Haus beziehungsweise Ihre Wohnung rundum sanieren, kann der Elektriker die Steuerleitungen mit wenig Aufwand in den Wänden verlegen. So können Sie später Schalter und Steckdosen einfach über den Installationsbus verbinden. Sie haben die Wahl zwischen geschlossenen proprietären Systemen eines Herstellers oder offenen Systemen wie KNX, einem Standard für die Hausautomation, der inzwischen von mehr als 500 Firmen unterstützt wird.

Tipp: Falls Sie (noch) kein Smart-Home-System installieren wollen, sollten Sie trotzdem Leerrohre in alle Zimmer ziehen lassen. So sind Sie für die Zukunft gerüstet und steigern den Wert der Immobilie. Falls sich in der Zwischenzeit die Standards ändern sollten, müssen Sie nur die Kabel ersetzen.

Und wie steht es um die Sicherheit?

Jedes Smart-Home-Gerät sammelt Daten über Sie, um seine Aufgaben erfüllen zu können, und ist mit dem Internet verbunden. Der Kühlschrank erkennt, was fehlt, und bestellt die fehlenden Lebensmittel online. Diese Daten speichert er. Genauso wie die Heizung, die wissen muss, wann Sie das Haus verlassen und wieder zurückkehren, damit sie die Temperatur anpassen kann. Aus diesen Daten lassen sich Lebensgewohnheiten ableiten. Viele dieser Daten sind nicht sensitiv, einige schon, beispielsweise die Daten, aus denen sich Rückschlüsse auf Ihre Gesundheit ziehen lassen, oder Kreditkarteninformationen. Darum sollten Sie vorsichtig sein und mögliche Sicherheitslücken schliessen:

  • Ändern Sie nach der Installation alle Standardbenutzernamen und -passwörter durch individuelle Benutzernamen und Passwörter, die nur Sie kennen und die Sie nirgendwo aufschreiben.
  • Schützen Sie das komplette Smart-Home-System durch eine Firewall, Zugriffsrechte und eine zusätzliche Verschlüsselung.
  • Installieren Sie regelmässig sämtliche Geräte-Updates und installieren Sie nur Updates, die Sie direkt vom Hersteller erhalten.
  • Ändern Sie Ihre Benutzernamen und Passwörter regelmässig und schreiben Sie sie niemals auf.
Die meisten Smart-Home-Systeme sind einfach zu installieren. Für komplexere Aufgaben, beispielsweise die Aktoren für einen Rollladenantrieb oder einen 230-Volt-Schalter, sollten Sie einen Elektriker anfragen.

Ähnliche Beiträge

Zurück zum Houzy Magazin